NCSPRA Scholarships

  • Scholarship 2020 Banner

    The North Carolina School Public Relations Association (NCSPRA) is pleased to support professional development opportunities for its members by offering two scholarships.  The scholarships are available to use toward expenses to attend the National Seminar presented by the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA).  
    • Bonnie Reidy Mentor Legacy Scholarship
    This scholarship is available to a member who has up to three years of work experience in school public relations and has never attended a National Seminar.  It is named in honor of Bonnie Reidy, a former NCSPRA president who served Gaston County Schools as Chief Communications Officer before retiring in 2013.
    • Nora Carr Presidential Scholarship
    This scholarship is available to a member who has not attended a National Seminar in the past three years.  It is named in honor of Nora Carr, a former NSPRA president who currently works as the Chief of Staff for Guilford County Schools in Greensboro.

    Scholarship applications will be accepted in the spring to attend the 2020 NSPRA National Seminar in St. Louis, Missouri (July 12-15).
    • Our Scholarship Recipients
    Bonnie Reidy Mentor Legacy Scholarship
    2019   Tracy Scruggs, Person County Schools
    2018   No scholarship awarded
    2017   Lisa Lane, Perquimans County Schools
    2016   Faith Jackson, Clinton City Schools
    2015   Lori Carlin, Chatham County Schools
    Nora Carr Presidential Scholarship
    2019   Leigh Anna Marbert, Asheboro City Schools
    2018   Becky Swiger, Union County Public Schools
    2017   Valerie Newton, Bladen County Schools
    2016   Tahira Stalberte, Union County Public Schools
    2015   Patricia Harmon-Lewis, Harnett County Schools