Barry Gaskins Award Recipients

  • The Barry Gaskins Award
    The Barry Gaskins Service Award for outstanding contributions to school public relations is presented annually by the North Carolina School Public Relations Association (NCSPRA) to a practicing or retired school public relations professional for outstanding leadership in school communications and public relations.  It is the most prestigious honor given to an individual by NCSPRA.
    • Award Recipients
    2003            Barry Gaskins, Pitt County Schools (Posthumously)
    2003-2004    Bonnie Reidy, Gaston County Schools
    2004-2005    Ann Wilkerson, Orange County Schools
    2005-2006    Bob Kendall, Wilson County Schools
    2006-2007    Kay Williams, Durham Public Schools
    2007-2008    Sue Carson, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
    2008-2009    Luan Ingram, Union County Public Schools
    2009-2010    Kirk Puckett, Alamance-Burlington School System
    2010-2011    Lela Chesson, Rocky Mount City Schools
    2011-2012    Kathy Newbern, Wake County Public Schools
    2012-2013    Shirley Carraway, Orange County Schools
    2013-2014    Kim Hoke, Chapel Hill-Carboro City Schools
    2014-2015    Pete Andrews, Onslow County Schools 
    2015-2016    Tim Lussier, Moore County Schools
    2016-2017    Vanessa Jeter, N.C. Department of Public Instruction
    2017-2018    Nora Carr, Guilford County Schools
    2018-2019    Jeff Nash, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools